Hallmark Security League Premier Division 
05/11/2016, 3:00 pm
AFC Darwen
1 - 1
New Mills
WEC Group Anchor Ground
First Team

Match Report





Darwen had more possession and most shots at goal in this match, but could not find a winner against the struggling Derbyshire side relegated from the EvoStik North the previous season.

Twenty minutes had elapsed before there was a decent effort towards goal. Alex Ralph connected with a free kick from the Darwen half, but his good strike was hit straight at New Mills keeper Mostyn, who managed to cling onto the ball.

Four minutes later, Ben Proctor received a back pass and kicked the ball out again in the direction of a Darwen defender, but Tunde Owolabi nipped into the gap and fired past the stranded keeper to give the visitors the lead.

Another four minutes and a great cross ball from Conor Gaul found Alex Ralph, whose shot across Mostyn went just wide.

Darwen continued to pressure the New Mills goal, and the effort was rewarded with five minutes to go in the half. A poorly hit back pass was intercepted by Conor Gaul, who was tripped by keeper Mostyn. Luke Mckenna sent Mostyn the wrong way with the subsequent penalty.

Half Time: AFC Darwen 1 New Mills 1

Three minutes into the restart, Conor Gaul had a dipping shot just clear the bar. Five minutes later a Kallum Banks run down the wing and low cross saw Mohammed Nabeel get a head onto the ball but glance it wide. On the hour mark, Mason Mostyn did well to push a Conor Gaul free kick round the post.

New Mills were relying on hitting Darwen on the break and nearly scored when a ball booted out of defence was latched on to by Robert Swallow. Ben Proctor did well to save the winger’s effort with his legs.

With twenty minutes to go, Conor Gaul hit a speculative drive from thirty yards out which went the wrong side of the post.

In the eighty third minute a Darwen attack broke down and a defensive clearance was again latched on to by Swallow. This time the ball went through the legs of keeper Proctor but he slowed it sufficiently for a defender to get back and clear the ball off the line.

Two minutes later another great cross from Kallum Banks on the right wing found the head of Conor Gaul on the opposite post resulting in a good point blank save by Mostyn. Just before the end another Gaul effort was gathered second time after a fumble by the visiting keeper.

Full Time: AFC Darwen 1 New Mills 1


REFEREE: Ben Atkinson
ASSISTANTS: Stuart Morland, William Vaughan

New Mills: Owolabi (24)
AFC Darwen: L McKenna (40, pen.)

New Mills: Mason Mostyn
AFC Darwen: Conor Gaul

Mostyn, Johnson (New Mills)


New Mills
1 Mason Mostyn
2 Charlie Doyle
3 Jack Taylor
4 Luke Jones
5 Daniel Johnson
6 Dominic Welsby
7 Tunde Owolabi
8 Michael Jones
9 Ryan Hibbert (Capt.)
10 Ryan Hopper
11 Robert Swallow
12 Jordan Arkle-Young
14 Will Wareing
15 Devon Golden
16 Haydn Foulds (replaced Jones, 57 minutes)
17 Ryan Eiselt

AFC Darwen
1 Ben Proctor
2 Kallum Banks
3 Declan Cunliffe
4 Jordan Scott
5 Luke McKenna
6 Keith Wedge (Capt.)
7 Karl Turner
8 Mohammed Nabeel
9 Ryan McKenna
10 Alex Ralph
11 Conor Gaul
12 Liam Cole
14 Jordyn Fitton
15 Jonathan McDonald (replaced Cunliffe, 75 minutes)
16 Jamie Edwards
18 Kiel Lonsdale